Travel Voucher

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

cindylou

Train Attendant
I'm just a newbie, but didn't realize that you had to present your Amtrak voucher face to face at a station to use it. (We got a voucher this past winter for a problem with our roomette.) I thought I could give them the voucher info over the phone. I just made a reservation over the phone, and was told we had to go to a station within the next week to pay for the reservation using the voucher.

When I explained that the nearest station is 3 hours away, the Amtrak agent said I could go to any travel agent, have them pull up my reservation #, present the voucher there. and pay for the trip that way.

Has anyone ever done this with a travel agent? Just wanting to make sure I got correct information.

Thanks!

Cindy

I'm just a newbie, but didn't realize that you had to present your Amtrak voucher face to face at a station to use it. (We got a voucher this past winter for a problem with our roomette.) I thought I could give them the voucher info over the phone. I just made a reservation over the phone, and was told we had to go to a station within the next week to pay for the reservation using the voucher. When I explained that the nearest station is 3 hours away, the Amtrak agent said I could go to any travel agent, have them pull up my reservation #, present the voucher there. and pay for the trip that way.

Has anyone ever done this with a travel agent? Just wanting to make sure I got correct information.

Thanks!

Cindy
Unless you have a friend that is a travel agent they would most likely charge you a service charge for doing this.