West by the Chief

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Fellow travellers,

I am a small-time gricer from India, living in Lawrence, KS, and a newbie here.

I am setting out on a fortnight-long trip of the west from Lawrence in 3 Southwest Chief later this month. Could someone tell me what the interesting railway curios I should be looking for are? I will be taking the Chief till Los Angeles, then continue to Berkeley/Emeryville. I am undecided whether I should travel along the coast or the San Joaquins valley. From Emeryville, I am travelling in 6 Calif. Zephyr to Chicago, catching 3 Chief or 303 Ann Rutledge to get back to Lawrence.

Another important question: is it okay to sweet-talk railway personnel? :) I have taken the Amtrak only once before, between San Diego and Los Angeles on a P. Surfliner, but I found the driver and the conductor rather stoic, so to speak.

Thanks a bunch.

Manoj.

I've only ridden on the SW Chief between Albuquerque and LA. It's a nice ride through the New Mexico and Arizona's vast desert type landscape. I hear the Raton Pass quite nice just before you get to Albuquerque. You definetly should take the Coast Starlight from LA to Emeryville. You'll see some of the most spectacular scenery of the Pacific Coast. Also that train is one of Amtrak's finest routes. If you go through the valley, all you see is farms, and you'll have to ride a bus from LA to Bakersfield. The California Zethyr is no disappointment either I hear.

Just note if you take the CZ all the way back to Chicago, then Ann Rutledge will only get you as far as Kansas City. (you probably knew that) Plus you'd have to spend the night in Chicago. Another option is to detrain at Galesburg, IL, and wait for the SW Chief to take you to KC/Lawrence. That way you wouldn't have to overnight in Chicago. (unless of course you want to).

Chris