Protect Motor at Secaucus now?

Discussion in 'Amtrak Rail Discussion' started by Acela150, Jan 29, 2019.

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

  1. Jan 29, 2019 #1

    Acela150

    Acela150

    Acela150

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,139
    Location:
    In a Sea of Foam
    Friday on 2160 and today on 173 I noticed what appeared to be a protect motor stored on a stub track Railroad West of Seacaucus. Is this a new practice? I'm used to a protect motor and Dual Mode sitting in A interlocking. If a protect motor has been placed in Seacaucus it seems like an odd location. It appears that the motor was crew less. Which isn't a shock.
     
  2. Jan 29, 2019 #2

    cpotisch

    cpotisch

    cpotisch

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    7,513
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Sorry, is this is an ACS-64 you're talking about?
     
  3. Jan 29, 2019 #3

    greatcats

    g

    greatcats

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,380
    Location:
    Flagstaff, Arizona
    Likely it was a protect move for the special train that carried Gov. Murphy and other honchos from Metropatk to NYP looking at the condition of the Hudson River Tunnel. 
     
  4. Jan 29, 2019 #4

    PVD

    P

    PVD

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    3,846
    Location:
    NYC/Queens
    That trip was shown on the news a few minutes ago....
     
  5. Jan 29, 2019 #5

    Acela150

    Acela150

    Acela150

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,139
    Location:
    In a Sea of Foam
    Yes.

    Today and Last Friday though?
     
  6. Jan 29, 2019 #6

    greatcats

    g

    greatcats

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,380
    Location:
    Flagstaff, Arizona
    Trial run to avoid a screwup?
     
  7. Jan 29, 2019 #7

    jis

    jis

    jis

    Conductor AU Lifetime Supporter Gathering Team Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    23,878
    Location:
    Space Coast, Florida, Area code 3-2-1
    It used to be a pretty routine thing a few years back.
     
  8. Jan 29, 2019 #8

    bratkinson

    bratkinson

    bratkinson

    Lead Service Attendant

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    493
    Location:
    QB 101
    Last Thursday afternoon, I saw the Veterans unit there.  As of 2 minutes ago, it was the 603.  Maybe it IS a protect unit...
     
  9. Jan 29, 2019 #9

    Acela150

    Acela150

    Acela150

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,139
    Location:
    In a Sea of Foam
    Yesterday it was 611. 
     
  10. Jan 30, 2019 #10

    Thirdrail7

    T

    Thirdrail7

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,830
    It has a crew and it isn't necessarily a new practice. Amtrak used to protect until they became crew and power short. Then, NJT started protecting at Hudson Yard during the week while Amtrak protected on the weekends .  Now,  NJTRO is short crews and power, so Amtrak is back to protecting the tunnels.
     
  11. Jan 30, 2019 #11

    west point

    w

    west point

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1,758
    This just appears to be very  prudent foresight.  Would imagine that the ideal protect equipment would be an electric and a dual mode as well with coupler adapters to rescue any NJT breakdowns.  However right now dual modes are in too short supply?
     
  12. Jan 30, 2019 #12

    Acela150

    Acela150

    Acela150

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,139
    Location:
    In a Sea of Foam
    Thank you for the good information! 

    Not really. The only time a Dual Mode would be used is in case of an overhead failure. The only type of equipment that would require an adapter is the Arrows. And the Arrows have one on the equipment. 
     
  13. Jan 30, 2019 #13

    jis

    jis

    jis

    Conductor AU Lifetime Supporter Gathering Team Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    23,878
    Location:
    Space Coast, Florida, Area code 3-2-1
    Usually a P32ACDM sits on protect duty at Penn Station near the diagonal platform anyway.
     
  14. Jan 30, 2019 #14

    Acela150

    Acela150

    Acela150

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,139
    Location:
    In a Sea of Foam
    Correct.
     
  15. Jan 30, 2019 #15

    cpotisch

    cpotisch

    cpotisch

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    7,513
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Yep! In fact, I can’t even remember the last time there wasn’t a P32 hanging out in the corner while departing Penn. I am wondering though, isn’t Sunnyside only like five minutes from NYP? Why is it so necessary to have that protect there all the time?
     
  16. Jan 30, 2019 #16

    Acela150

    Acela150

    Acela150

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,139
    Location:
    In a Sea of Foam
    It's simply the fact that if a train stalls or the engine calls it quits in the Empire Tunnel or on the Empire Connection a crew can climb on and go. If the unit was in Sunnyside it could be anywhere from say 15 minutes to an hour to get out of the yard and through the tunnels.  
     
  17. Jan 31, 2019 #17

    bratkinson

    bratkinson

    bratkinson

    Lead Service Attendant

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    493
    Location:
    QB 101
    With the diesel engine idling, based on passing through on #98 last week and having my roomette door closed so I heard the noise.
     
  18. Jan 31, 2019 #18

    Acela150

    Acela150

    Acela150

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,139
    Location:
    In a Sea of Foam
    AFAIK that's incorrect. It's on Third Rail in Penn Station and the Empire Tunnel. These units are still loud even under Third Rail power. 
     
  19. Jan 31, 2019 #19

    OBS

    O

    OBS

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,404
    Location:
    Webster NY
    Agree...
     
  20. Jan 31, 2019 #20

    jis

    jis

    jis

    Conductor AU Lifetime Supporter Gathering Team Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    23,878
    Location:
    Space Coast, Florida, Area code 3-2-1
    Correct. They do not normally have their diesel engine running in Penn Station.
     
  21. Jan 31, 2019 #21

    bratkinson

    bratkinson

    bratkinson

    Lead Service Attendant

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    493
    Location:
    QB 101
    Not to disagree with the previous respondents, but at age 71, I DO know the sound of an idling diesel when I hear it!  Even through the window of a roomette.   If not that dual mode, maybe an NJT unit?
     
  22. Jan 31, 2019 #22

    cpotisch

    cpotisch

    cpotisch

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    7,513
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Incorrect. To avoid diesel fumes in what is a pretty much completely enclosed space, locos always run on electric when in Penn Station. That's the whole point of the P32AC-DMs and ALB-45DPs; to run on electric in and out of Penn.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 31, 2019
  23. Jan 31, 2019 #23

    PVD

    P

    PVD

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    3,846
    Location:
    NYC/Queens
    I've gone out of Penn many times. It is true that the diesels are not normally running in Penn. On the other hand, I have occasionally seen the P32 sitting in an open area just outside of the covered areas. I did not notice if it was running or not...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 31, 2019
  24. Jan 31, 2019 #24

    Acela150

    Acela150

    Acela150

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,139
    Location:
    In a Sea of Foam
    Like I said, the Dual Modes are loud, even when on Third Rail. 
     
  25. Jan 31, 2019 #25

    jis

    jis

    jis

    Conductor AU Lifetime Supporter Gathering Team Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    23,878
    Location:
    Space Coast, Florida, Area code 3-2-1
    There is no open area any more. It has all been covered up by the West Side Yard and related developments.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 31, 2019

Share This Page



arrow_white