New to "Amtrak Unlimited" but not to Amtrak

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

AutoTrDvr

OBS Chief
Hello. I just joined this forum (I'm a veteran of many others like it). But I have some experience with Amtrak, having taken several of the original routes to get to and from school (the original "Broadway" and "Lakeshore" Ltd. trains).

At present, I'm a frequent traveler aboard the "Auto Train" which, as I understand, is Amtrak's most profitable train. I consider it an absolute value in that I don't have to drive that far to get to Florida, and I usually travel there at least twice a year if not more.

I have a question regarding Amtrak's standard "checked baggage" policies and how they apply to the Auto Train. It would seem that the policies in place on Amtrak's website have to do, primarily, passenger trains that have a baggage car. However, because there is no such thing as "checked baggage" on the Auto Train, (i.e. either it's a "carry on" or it's "whatever is in your car") how would those same policies apply (if at all) to the Auto Train? (Note: I do *not* refer to "carry on" items, for which I assume the same policies would apply).

Is there a separately defined policy for what you can/can't put in your vehicle on the Auto Train? It would seem that, having discussed the situation with several Amtrak reps when making AutoTrain reservations, there are some slight differences (some things you can put in your car that you cannot carry in "checked baggage" aboard other trains). I'll not mention any details just yet, until I can get some clarity on the policy.