First timer, not impressed with Amtrak

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sodium

Train Attendant
I did a long haul from NY to SF, with a change in trains in Chicago. Lake Shore Limited and California Zephyr. I had a roomette for both legs.

I felt the service staff to be average, not as polished as the airlines. The airlines run a tight ship while I felt the Amtrak staff to be like the local public transit. Public employees, just going through the motions. I would hate to see how the Amtrak coach passengers were treated with the level of service provided in first class. I've never flown in business or first class on airplanes but I think I have a feeling of how they are treated and it looks good. I am not a pro airline guy, before flying out to NY in coach class over a week ago, I haven't flown in 10 years and probably only been on 10 flights in total.

The restrooms are also tiny, would it kill them to combine 2 restrooms into one larger one in the sleeper trains? I held it in until the longer stops and used the restrooms at the train stops. Apparently others did the same as there was a long line in Grand Junction for the mens room. But they only had one toilet stall and one urinal there. On my Lakeshore Limited route with a viewliner, I had my own toilet and sink and I was happy about that.

Most of the sleeper rooms on the Zephyr with a superliner were occupied by elderly people. I know if I had trouble in the restrooms, they must be worst off. I couldn't even brush my teeth in there. I'm lucky I packed some Wisp disposable toothbrushes.