Do Long Distance Trains Really Lose Money

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

henryj

Conductor
I read Fred Frailey’s Trains Magazine article on “What’s Next for Amtrak” with great interest. But what struck me most was the comment that the 15 LD train were expected to lose $530 million in 2012. I am a retired CPA so I like to work with numbers and I just found this hard to believe. So I went back and re-read Amtrak’s Performance Report for FY2011 and their PIP Plan reviews on certain LD trains and routes. What I found was shocking and eye opening. I used Amtrak’s own published numbers or extrapolated them to the trains that have not been reviewed yet. I wanted to see if these trains even covered their own operating expenses, that is fuel, rent to private RR($5 a train mile by the way, not free), switching, maintenance, labor T&E, labor OBS, commissary and station costs. What I found is that the trains we often associate with being a big success are in fact the biggest losers. The CZ, SWC, Empire Builder, Crescent and Starlight in that order. The much maligned Sunset actually breaks even or even makes a small profit. The Silvers to Florida also did well with the Star loosing, but the Meteor more than making up for it. I did not evaluate the Auto Train. So altogether, the 14 LD trains lost some $97 million in operating loses, but then Amtrak layers on something like $486 million in ‘overhead’ costs. Does this smell like a skunk in the woodshed to you? Is Amtrak using these 14 LD trains to shed it’s bloated overhead so as to make the NEC look better and make competitive bids to run state supported trains? That’s how it looks to me. Wouldn’t these trains be better off run by a lean mean organization that really wants to run them and make them a success. One other thing I noticed is that