Couple EB questions

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

atm79

Train Attendant
Howdy folks,

I'm getting ready to buy a ticket for my first LD train trip next spring and I'm hoping you all can help me out with a couple questions / concerns...

1. I live in PDX and will be taking the EB to CHI. I realize I could just board the train here and go all the way through but I've been up and down the gorge on both sides many times and while it never ever gets old, I'd like to see something new. I'm looking at taking the Cascades up to SEA and boarding the EB there. I can get a ticket on #506 connecting to #8 but the connection time is only :55. Is that sufficient? I have no experience with the Cascades so I don't know what the OT performance is like. The alternative is #500 but that leaves over 4.5 hours of wait time in SEA.

2. The way I understand it, there's just one sleeper out of PDX and it and the rest of the consist gets attached to the end of the train in SPK. The sleepers out of SEA are towards the front of the train. Would one or the other be more desirable or is that more of a personal preference thing? I'm willing to take the EB directly out of PDX if it's a big difference (and it might save a few bucks too but that wouldn't force the decision).

3. Target time frame is the very end of April into early May. Is there enough daylight that time of year to have a good chance at enjoying the scenery during the western portions of the trip?

Thanks much for your help and advice!