AGR for dummies?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Dear friends,

I'm a relative newbie on this forum; can't find this topic addressed directly; and apologize that it's embarrassingly simple-minded.

I only have about 6,000 AGR points. I won't apologize for that because I mostly rack them up at the tedious rate of 100 points per trip (between DC's Union Station and NYC or Pittsburgh). I've made just one LD trip, an unforgettable journey on the Southwest Chief last summer, and fantasize longingly about retirement circa 2016 when I'll criss-cross the country by rail. My new motto: "No more flyover country."

Question: what are the smartest ways to earn and to redeem AGR points?

Thanks in advance for your collective wisdom.

Credit card spending.

Get yourself the Chase Amtrak card or the Sapphire Preferred card, which can transfer points into AGR on a 1:1 basis.

Take all your routine spending and wash it through the cards, paying the card off monthly.

Totally free when you use the AGR card, and the Sapphire Preferred card as a $95/year annual fee.

I find the fee is worth it for the CSP card, because in addition to Amtrak, you can also transfer the points to a bunch of airline an hotel partners, giving you lots of flexibility.

Both cards also come with a decent signup bonus after you complete a minimum spend.

Also use the shopping portal on the AGR site whenever possible.

Have family or friends you can recruit to train travel? If so, you can refer them to AGR and when they take a trip w/in 90 days of signing up, you both get bonus points.

Question: what are the smartest ways to earn and to redeem AGR points?
I don't know about "smartest", but there are efficient ways to collect points at a low cost. It certainly helps if you're actually willing to travel this way and not simply doing "point runs".