Sleeper Car Attendent Tips

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jmbgeg

Engineer
I have been traveling by train for several years but do not yet have a good sense of what fair sleeper car attendent tips are. My most frequent trips are overnights from Spokane that leave at 2:15 and 2:45 a.m. and arrive in Seattle or Portland about 10:00 a.m. with return legs leaving about 4:45 p.m. returning after midnight. On these trips the attendent's service that I utilize is often limited to putting the bed down and back up. Next month I will travel again on the Empire Builder Eastbond which is about a 35 hour trip on a single train. A comparable travel time train that I take is Portland to L.A. on the Coast Starlight. My tipping to date has generally been $10 to $20 flat (never $10 on the long trips). I am interested in comments on what prevailing tip ranges are for 8 hour overnights and for longer trips like trains like 7 & 8 and 11 & 14.

Generally, if I'm traveling alone, I'll tip $5 per night. If the service was excellent, I'll do a few $$$ more. Just use your judgement. I have been traveling NOL-ATL-NOL mostly these days and while not overnight, it's still basically a 12 hour ride in each direction, so I usually tip $5 at the end of the ride as a courtesy.

There are several threads on this topic already, I think ...

And opinions vary, but I personally tip between $5 and $10 a night, depending on the level of service. If an attendant is basically invisible for much of the trip -- which seems to happen fairly often -- I have no qualms about not tipping at all.

There are several threads on this topic already, I think ...