Which train?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I'm not sure where to post this and maybe the admins will kind enough to "route" it to the right group:)

I was in basic training at Ft Jackson SC from July-Sep 1974 and when I graduated we were put on a train from Columbia, SC to Washington, DC. Can anyone possibly tell me which train I was on back then? Was it Amtrak? I know that the Silver Service/Palmetto runs that route now.

Thanks for your help!

P.S. I'm taking the Crescent to DC next week! Can't wait!

That particular service would not have changed too drastrically. You were probably on the Silver Star. That was already Amtrak then--Amtrak came into existence in 1971.

Before that it would have been Seaboard Coast Line. You may have seen Seaboard Coastline and other railroad equipment on the train, that was before Amtrak had built any distinctive long distance equipment of its own. It was still running that which had been inherited from the old railroads.

And before all that, Seaboard Coast Line was a merger between the Seaboard and the Atlantic COast Line, all names you could still have seen back then.

Enjoy your trip on the Crescent!!

As an interesting side note, the annual Ft. Jackson Exodus still operates right before Christmas. Amtrak adds extra equipment as almost everyone leave sFt. Jackson for the Holidays - troops go either north or south and return after New Years.

It is a good piece of business for Amtrak and is organized by Marketing, Operations, the travel agency on Ft. Jackson and the Ft. personnel.

Thanks for the info, Mr. Haithcoat! I knew about Seaboard, not much about Atlantic. I'm from Southern country and knew that Amtrak had bought them.