What Type Of People Ride Amtrak

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
What type of people do you find on Amtrak trains? I'm a grad student, live a block from the Amtrak station, and am curious what really draws people to ride. The recent fuel cost spike has made me think twice about driving or flying, but when I look at Amtrak it just really miff's me that they sell any tickets other than short commuter based travel. I see on-time percentages below 50%, it costs more, and takes 10 times longer. Am I missing something?

I wanted to go from Lafayette IN to Harrisburg PA, and the trip would take about 24 hours, have a 70% chance of being delayed, and costs about $200 more than a plane ride.

Last edited by a moderator:
1.Have you never been delayed on a plane?

2.Have you been stuck in an airport for a day(s)? Do you find being jammed into a plane with 300 people, screaming infants due to pressurization fun?

3. Are you attempting to book a fare on Amtrak during the summer and booking 3 weeks out? You can book 11 months in advance with Amtrak and pretty much cancel coach fare up to the day you travel with 100% refund and no hassles. Booking 11 months out gets you the best fare. Ever check an airline flight a few days before boarding? Generally alot higher.

4.Can you bring 2 carryons to the plane? No!

5.Can you bring 2 carryons onto Amtrak plus a personal bag such as a purse or laptop and not be charged extra for it? Yes!