What has been your longest trip on amtrak? With and without Breaks

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

cassie225

Lead Service Attendant
AU Supporting Member
Since I'm a newbie and I can sense there are seasoned amtrakers on board, tell me what has been the longest train trip for those of you reading this. Including how many nights straight on the amtrak. Would you do it again? I wanna go to Alaska and don't wanna fly. Will have to leave from NOL. Then we wanna sightsee by train when we get there. Is that doable?

There is no direct rail link from the US or Canada to Alaska. There is, however, a Seattle-to-Anchorage ferry option; what you could do is either take the Sunset Limited from NOL-LAX and then the Coast Starlight LAX-SEA or take the City of New Orleans from NOL-CHI and then the Empire Builder CHI-SEA...and then take a ferry ride up the coast.

My longest trip will be coming up at the end of this month. Three nights straight. I know that is not a record or anything, but we use Amtrak for transportation. I have yet to take a train trip only for the trip. I am always going somewhere.

Our upcoming trip will be from Lamy, NM to Emeryville, Ca via Galesburg, Il.

As for getting to Alaska, there is no train that runs from the lower 50 states to Alaska.

Last edited by a moderator:
My longest continuous Amtrak trip was San Francisco Ferry to Los Angeles via Bus & Coast Starlight.

I did an overnight in LA, then boarded the Texas Eagle / Sunset Limited (422) to Chicago and then

the Lake Shore Limited from Chicago to New York City. It was a long but enjoyable trip. I was in

a sleeper accommodation for the trip.

The above trip followed a trip from New York City to Chicago on the Lake Shore Limited followed by