Trip: New York to Denver

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Shanghai

Engineer
Trip Report: New York City to Denver; June 21 through June 27, 2009

I was traveling to Denver, Colorado to attend a board meeting of a volunteer organization of which I am an officer. I enjoy being able to travel without a strict time schedule, so I usually travel by train.

I departed my hometown of Chatham, New Jersey on the 7:42am New Jersey Transit double-decker commuter train on June 21st. It was Father’s Day and was sprinkling lightly at the station. I arrived New York Penn Station at 8:45am, on time. I went directly to the Quick-Trak machine to get my tickets, then to Baggage Check to check my larger luggage. I was able to check through to Denver. I then proceeded to the Acela Lounge to await my departure.

My first leg was Northeast Regional 143 to Washington DC where I would connect to the Capitol Limited bound for Chicago. We arrived in Washington on schedule and I went to the Acela Lounge to await the call to board the CAP. We boarded on time and departed exactly at 4:05pm, EDT. I was in a lower level Roomette, number 14. The train was completely sold out in both coach and sleeper. Soon after departure a dining car person came by to book my dinner reservation. I took a 5:30 time as I did not have any lunch.