'Tis a Puzzlement..Hitchikers on #98

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Carolyn Jane

Lead Service Attendant
AU Supporting Member
I have been stalking trains on the CSX mainline for several years, originally anything that passed, but more recently only Amtrak. #98 and the Autotrain northbound (southbound trains go through too early). Twice, I have seen a 'passenger' train go through traveling south, at a time when there was not supposed to be a train traveling that direction. The first time, I just thought that someone was really late. The second time, I realized it was not Amtrak at all, but an all dark blue train with CSX on the sides. I have wondered what it's purpose might be..as surely, CSX executives would not be caught traveling any way other than first class air...It was not a decrepit work train. Tonight, as I watched 98 crawl through, certainly not doing the usual 79mph, I counted cars as I always do, and on the rear were two excess coaches, but they were not Amtrak stock. They were dark, probably blue but at 8:30pm it is hard to distinguish blue from black...No lights on, I could not see well enough to see if they were labelled CSX. Any ideas? CJ

For the uninitiated, PV means private varnish, or in other words, a privately owned rail car. Many people own private cars just as others own private jets or private buses. Amtrak will allow private cars to be carried on the end of its trains for a fee.

Those two cars at the back were probably PVs. The whole CSX blue train is probably the executive trai or maybe the Santa Train. See: www.railpictures.net/viewphoto.php?id=415326&nseq=586. Edit: There might be an error with the link.
If you highlight the whole link, copy and past into a new tab, you get this :

www.railpictures.net/viewphoto.php?id=415326&nseq=586

4602_1353303178.jpg