The Four Corners of North America -- Part I

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

p&sr

OBS Chief
In May of 2006 I was once again feeling the need to get "out and around". In making plans for a trip by rail with my wife, I kept suggesting extensions while she kept suggesting abbreviations. Ultimately it became clear that we were talking about two different trips, so she suggested I should just go ahead on my own... but do it that same month so I would be back in time for her own scheduled vacation time.

So that Tuesday I had her blessing to go ahead. All of Wednesday I studied routes and schedules. On Thursday I worked out the details with the North America Pass desk at Amtrak. On Friday I drove to my home station, Martinez, and picked up my Pass, the tickets for the Amtrak section of the journey, and a current nationwide schedule. (The schedule books come in very handy for planning, or for working out last-minute changes. In particular, there is a page covering the Western US showing expected areas of daylight or darkness for the trains in each direction.) And then the next Tuesday I was on my way. The "30-day" pass was good only for about 20 days, because I bought it for the off-season rate... and the off-season was about to expire. But for a 19-day itinerary... no problem!

The basic plan was to cover the "Four Corners" of the North American Rail System... San Diego, Miami, Halifax, and Vancouver BC. Eastbound routing via Chicago, and Westbound across Canada. The trip was a super bargain, because the Canadian section alone would normally cost much more than the price of the Pass (especially with 10% discount for AAA).