The dreaded bustitution... What can I expect?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Just found out my trip from MIA-NYP on the 27th will have a bustitution between MIA and JAX. I'm not sure what to expect as I'm new to Amtrak travel and all its joys. What types of buses do they use? Do they make stops for concessions, etc? Also, the ticket says the duration of the bus ride is just over 8 hours. This seems high considering that Google maps indicates it should be 5 hours. I assume the bus follows the rail route and stops at all the stations between. Luckily I already hashed out the refund/compensation details with CR as I'll now be famished on a bus instead of full in my cozy roomette. Chalk it up to adventure I guess!

It all depends what kind of bus you get. If they know far enough in advance, Amtrak tries to charter regular (full sized) buses. But if on very short notice (like the freight train 10 miles ahead derailed and is blocking all tracks), Amtrak has to go with what is available at that time.

As far as the route traveled, that also depends. They must stop at all stations that have passengers boarding or getting off. (Someone may be riding only from say Deerfield Beach to Winter Park.) But they may also have express buses that go from say Miami right to Jacksonville up I-95 or Miami to Orlando up the Florida Turnpike and then to Jacksonville on I-4 & I-95.

As an example, I had a bustitution from Longview to Ft Worth in March. One bus went nonstop to Ft Worth while the others made stops.

If the ride is that long, they'll either be a meal and/or rest stop or a boxed meal will be provided to you. Or both.