The best worst train!?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I am a industrial design student currently working on a concept for a new subway train. so what i am interested in is feedback about things concerning the subway. any subway. tell me about the things you hate and love about your daily commuting or occasional trip underground. what do you consider to be the most important thing in a subway train. from passenger flow int hte waggons, heated seating, lighting, airconditioning, windows, railing, interface etc... anything!

I really appreciate your answers :)

Traindesign, I think it would be helpful if we knew a bit more of what you have in mind; if you will, a baseline for your concept. Perhaps you could post any preliminary drawings, and/or a sort of mission proposal statement about your project, and feedback could proceed from there.

My local subway is the Los Angeles Metro Red Line, and I'm pretty happy with it, although the braking seems a bit abrupt at times, jostling standees.

Which leads to the question of your focus. Are you talking about designing an entire system, or just the rolling stock? Again, knowing these things would be helpful for those, like myself, who would be happy to provide a little input on your project.

Last edited by a moderator:
To be honest with you, I'd say the key thing with trainsets is their durability. The R32s have long outlasted the R34s and R36s on the NYC subway, because they were really well built, shot welded stainless steel Budd cars.

Seating is also practically irellevant. Most people who get a seat on the subway are happy to get it- most people stand.