Taking medications along on train trip

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

librarian

Train Attendant
My wife is joining me on a cross-country train trip in late October. This will be her first time on a train, I am a 20 year veteran and am excited that I finally convinced her to join me. I am sharing all the tips and hints on train travel, and some she has already heard from my train talk around the house, but there is one issue I do not deal with on a train.

She takes insulin for diabetes, and has a small travel container with an ice pouch. How difficult is it to deal with this on the train? We are in sleepers the whole trip and getting a little ice should be okay, but what about all the syringes we will need to take along for 2 weeks? Do we need to take a letter from the doctor, or will the prescriptions be enough?

We are taking the CL and CZ round trip to Sacramento, I booked a night in Chicago eastbound so as not to have to worry about the connection. Otherwise, we are very flexible and a late train won't impact us too much. Thanks for anyone's help.

Unlike an airport, there is no "Security" that you go through. So that is not a problem. Since you'll be in a sleeper, you can get additional ice from your SA. Even if not, you could get ice from the cafe. But note, they can not store any medications for you. And remember to keep any necessary medication with you! (If it is in your checked baggage, you can not get to it during the trip!)

The only "problem" is the disposal of the used syringes. I honestly do not know how this is handled. But I'm sure other's do.