Sleeper redemption

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ray828

Train Attendant
I now have enough points for a sleeper in a one zone destination. How does the redemption work? Does the voucher include just the sleeping car price or do I have to pay the difference in coach? If any one else is to join you in the sleeper are they covered by the voucher, or must they pay the coach fare as well? Any information on this would be great. I have never tried to redeem my points before and am a little confused? Thanks

I now have enough points for a sleeper in a one zone destination. How does the redemption work? Does the voucher include just the sleeping car price or do I have to pay the difference in coach? If any one else is to join you in the sleeper are they covered by the voucher, or must they pay the coach fare as well? Any information on this would be great. I have never tried to redeem my points before and am a little confused? Thanks
Your redemption includes the maximum number of people that can be in the room and no charge for coach. It would be as if you bought the ticket yourself. All the same benefits, meals, etc.

You AGR will cover all occupants of a sleeper room (up to the max allowed for the room). Railfare and accommodations. No additional costs.

No, there is nothing additional out of pocket: the redemption covers both the accomodations charge and the rail fare for as many people as the room's published capacity allows.

As a special case of the above, no, the extra person joining you does not have to pay anything out of pocket either. Note, however, that they may not randomly join you unannounced. Both you and he must be named at the time you redeem, and each of you will get a ticket.

Also note that because it is a sleeper redemption, you must call AGR at +1(800)307-5000 to do so.

Enjoy your trip!