QuikTrak Problems?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a newbie to this forum, but have enjoyed lurking from time to time. This morning, I purchased tickets online for my third Amtrak long distance trip and then drove down to the station to pick them up from the QuikTrak machine. (There's no live ticket agent during the day at our station.) Last year when I got my tickets, the QuikTrak was fine and I was favorably impressed with it. Today, it spit out the first of four tickets and then the screen displayed "Out of Service." It completely ceased to respond. Called Amtrak customer service for advice, and their records showed that the tickets had been printed. The rep believed the tickets were stuck in the machine and that I should come back when the live agent was there (early evening). OK... time passed.... Ticket agent reported for duty and opened the machine. No tickets. However, he did go ahead and print them out for me at the ticket desk, so all's well that ends well.

I've been married to a UP engineer for over 30 years, so I know it's rare indeed to have a railroad trip where nothing goes wrong. Mishaps of various sorts are part of the adventure of riding Amtrak, so I'm not complaining. However, I am curious as to whether or not there are frequent problems with the QuikTrak machines or if this was just a freak incident. I don't think I want to trust it again, but am interested in your experiences with the machine. Thanks.