My letter to Anthony Coscia, chairman of Amtrak's Board.

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Very thoughtful letter. I would be most curious as to what if any, reply you receive...hopefully more than just some 'form' letter from one of his aides.
default_unsure.png

I acknowledge this is a well written and respectful letter setting forth the writer's positions regarding allocation of overhead costs.

Now, having been in practice as a CPA, I can assure all that there is no such a thing as a Responsibility Accounting system in any industry that will have everyone happy. Every responsibility area (Amtrakese: Responsibility Location or RESLOC) has to assume a portion of the unavoidable overhead. That's life.

Now I have to note that all the references in the letter are from pro-LD factions such as RPA, Andrew Selden, Matt Fels - and all of course hold that LD's assume a disproportionate share of that overhead.

The outside auditors, Ernst & Young at the moment, are largely concerned that the Financial Statements, are fairly stated and that systems to safeguard assets and promote operational efficiency known as Internal Control are active. Unless blatant, the Responsibility Accounting system is beyond that scope.

Last edited by a moderator:
neroden,

This is an excellent letter.

The only problem is that the board doesn't seem all that more capable or interested in Amtrak than Anderson does.
default_sad.png

Anyway, thank you for writing it, and we will hope that you get a "real" reply.

Quite simply, Amtrak should "just stay put" for any passenger convenience gained is more than offset by increased costs and operational disruptions.