Hiring Prospects for Children of Amtrak Employees?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

NTL1991

Train Attendant
Hello,

I'm a 19-year-old college student just finishing up my associate's degree, and I've been speaking to my dad about employment with Amtrak. He is a ticket agent, and has only been with the company for about 3 years, but has received numerous letters of appreciation from passengers, which are on file. He has spoken to many conductors and he wanted to know what I though about being an Assistant Conductor, as they are hiring in Boston and New Haven.

He filled me in on the Extra Board, the 8 weeks of training in Delaware, and the long, undesirable hours that lower-rung conductors get... He doesn't want me to be a ticket agent because of the uncertainty with the automated ticketing system that Amtrak will be rolling out later on. He says this will also be putting pressure on the Conductors, as issues with printed tickets, bar codes, and what not, will arise. Also, he was talking about the LSA's and their struggle with the payments moving from cash to credit only and the issues that come with that...

Is it common practice for Amtrak employees to get their children into the system? Does Amtrak prefer this sort of hiring? What are the prospects for Conductors? Is there opportunity to move up to an Engineer after years of service? If so, is it worth the drop in seniority?

Anything I should be aware of?

Thanks,

Nick

Number one is that Amtrak hires at 21. Number two the 8 weeks of training IS paid! I believe if I've read correctly is $60 a day. Not 100% sure. Number three you will have to qualify on NORAC which is basically a book of rules. Then signals and other functions. And finally Number four, be customer friendly!