help please

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
near the Wellington avalanche site(NE of Seattle)
I'm trying to book a trip -either connecting in LA or going to San Diego (& have family pick us up/drop us off there) - can someone advise me on a clean safe hotel near these to stations & if given a choice would you go Coast Starlight to LAX - switch to Texas Eagle to Arizona -- or would you go to LAX switch to San Diego and drive a few hours (each way) to visit family over Christmas

I am new to this so please forgive me if I am not doing this correctly ----& THANKS for any help

Wanttoride

Hi,

I am not 100% sure about USA geography, as I live in the UK.. However, many longer distance Amtrak trains do run quite late, often by several hours.

I think the Coast Starlight is due to arrive in LAX at 9pm, so in case it runs late, it might be wise to plan on staying in LA. (Onward travel to San Diego might not be available so late?)

Hotels.com allows you to search for an hotel by choosing from the drop down menu "hotel near Amtrak station", but no doubt others will have personal recommendations.

Happy Christmas!

Ed B)

I'm trying to book a trip -either connecting in LA or going to San Diego (& have family pick us up/drop us off there) - can someone advise me on a clean safe hotel near these to stations & if given a choice would you go Coast Starlight to LAX - switch to Texas Eagle to Arizona -- or would you go to LAX switch to San Diego and drive a few hours (each way) to visit family over ChristmasI am new to this so please forgive me if I am not doing this correctly ----& THANKS for any help

Wanttoride