"First Timer"

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Well, technically not really...but the only time I've travelled by train was a short trip fifteen years ago, from Dallas to Longview. So, I don't think that really counts. ;)

I've now booked a more ambitious journey: the Texas Eagle to Chicago, then the Pere Marquette to Grand Rapids. Being a complete noob, I certainly have some questions that I hope some of you will be kind enough to address.

Security: One of the main reasons I have chosen Amtrak is that I'm going to a piano technicians convention, and may want to take a tool case holding a couple thousand dollars worth of specialized tools, some quite "dangerous"-looking. This always causes trouble when flying. I'll also likely be taking a laptop. I've booked a roomette (number five), but I understand you can't "lock it when you leave it"? Are there any added security measures available? Secure checked baggage? Should I just get some steel cable/padlocks to make them simply too d*****d hard to steal? I'm thinking there should be something to chain them to in the roomette...seat base, etc.

Connecting in Chicago: If everything goes right, I'll have about a three-hour wait for 'father' in Chicago. Now, it looks like the Art Institute is right down the street...time enough to check out a couple of select galleries? What if it's only an hour? Any diversions really close to CUS?

Pere Marquette: I haven't seen any accounts of this route here...has anyone taken it? I haven't thouroughly searched yet, but there are several Texas Eagle accounts that jumped out...none for 'father'!! Looks like quite a nice trip up the eastern shore of Lake Michigan!

Thanks for any input!!

John

Welcome!