Dining Car on LSL?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I am currently on the westbound 49 (19) and they announced dinner reservations in the diner car. When I passed by it looked like an actual diner car and not a diner lite but I am by no means an expert when it comes to these things. Is the diner car permanently back or is this a special case for today or is it a hit or miss?

I am currently on the westbound 49 (19) and they announced dinner reservations in the diner car. When I passed by it looked like an actual diner car and not a diner lite but I am by no means an expert when it comes to these things. Is the diner car permanently back or is this a special case for today or is it a hit or miss?
Easy to tell the difference. If its an Amfleet car, it is a "diner lite" (Amfleet II lounge).

Only if its a Viewliner or Heritage car, is it an actual dining car.

Easy to tell the difference. If its an Amfleet car, it is a "diner lite" (Amfleet II lounge).

Sorry, I can't tell the difference between Amfleet, Heritage, or Viewliner, I am clueless!

I do know they said the lounge car won't be available until Albany.

Sorry, I can't tell the difference between Amfleet, Heritage, or Viewliner, I am clueless!

I do know they said the lounge car won't be available until Albany.
Amfleet cars have a rounded carbody. The Amfleet II "diner lite" lounge cars will have a serving area in the center with tables to each end.

Viewliner cars have a second row of windows. Both they and the Heritage diners have a kitchen to one end and tables on the other.

I thought all the heritage cars were removed from service? If you got one, you're lucky. Take a picture of your menu too. Diner lite means microwaved food, not griddle or grilled.