Canada Coast-to-Coast

Discussion in 'VIA Rail Canada Discussion' started by PaulDobbs, Mar 12, 2019.

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

  1. Apr 10, 2019 #51

    PaulDobbs

    P

    PaulDobbs

    Train Attendant

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    One thing that I haven't decided yet is whether to take my scanner. I don't know about the laws in Canada and the various provinces concerning scanners. I also wonder about problems at the border with scanners. And finally, I don't know what frequencies to listen on.
     
  2. Apr 10, 2019 #52

    zephyr17

    z

    zephyr17

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,753
    Location:
    Washington State
    I have traveled on the Canadian every year for the last 5 years and always carry a scanner with no problems. I wouldn't use it in a car, though, that is where you may get into trouble with provincial laws.

    No problems with them at the border.

    You really only need two channels:

    CN end to end road channel 161.415 (CN Channel 1/AAR channel 87)

    Via onboard service/train to head end communication: 160.200 (AAR channel 6)

    Via OBS crews use the radio to communicate, so you get to hear a lot more on that via channel than you do on Amtrak (like "we need more ice in the Park car"). And there are much fewer PA announcements like "...conductor to the IC..." that are so annoying on Amtrak. There is no train intercom, they use the radio.

    Also you'll know why you have been stuck in a siding for 2 hours (typically waiting for meets with like 4 non clearing CN freights).

    As always, be considerate of your fellow passengers and use earphones.
     
    PaulDobbs likes this.
  3. Apr 11, 2019 #53

    PaulDobbs

    P

    PaulDobbs

    Train Attendant

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    Thank you. An excellent answer. I got out my scanner instructions and figured out how to scan just these two frequencies. Do you know what frequencies I will need on the Ocean?
     
  4. Apr 11, 2019 #54

    zephyr17

    z

    zephyr17

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,753
    Location:
    Washington State
    The same. The CN road channel and Via OBS/head end communication channel are system wide for both.
     
  5. Apr 11, 2019 #55

    PaulDobbs

    P

    PaulDobbs

    Train Attendant

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    Very good. Thanks again.
     
  6. Apr 12, 2019 #56

    flitcraft

    f

    flitcraft

    Service Attendant

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    107
  7. Apr 12, 2019 #57

    PaulDobbs

    P

    PaulDobbs

    Train Attendant

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    Thanks. I enjoyed your reports.
     
  8. Apr 19, 2019 at 1:15 AM #58

    PaulDobbs

    P

    PaulDobbs

    Train Attendant

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    Yet another question: Are there available electrical outlets in the Prestige class rooms? I use a map application on my iPad to track my trips. It doesn't need an internet connection, but it eats up battery pretty fast. In an Amtrak bedroom, I always run an extension cord over to the center of the window so that I can charge my iPad, iPhone and watch overnight, plus when I need to during the day.

    I understand that there are outlets in the Panorama Car and the Bullet Lounge, but not in the domes.
     
  9. Apr 19, 2019 at 3:22 PM #59

    AZflyer

    A

    AZflyer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Yes, but I would bring a power strip with me to make sure that I could charge numerous items. There’s an outlet in the room and one in the bathroom.
     
  10. Apr 19, 2019 at 8:05 PM #60

    PaulDobbs

    P

    PaulDobbs

    Train Attendant

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    Where is the outlet in the room? It does not seem to show up on any of the pictures.
     

Share This Page



arrow_white