Builder Seattle to Chicago

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

smurfmom

Train Attendant
Hello all. I'm brand new to this!! I am taking the Amtrak from Seattle to Chicago in December. Has anyone ridden this route? Which side would I like to be on in my little roomette? Any suggestions that will make my first cross country train trip more fun then I think it is going to be?

Hello all. I'm brand new to this!! I am taking the Amtrak from Seattle to Chicago in December. Has anyone ridden this route? Which side would I like to be on in my little roomette? Any suggestions that will make my first cross country train trip more fun then I think it is going to be?
Welcome to the forum. I moved this to the main discussion area where more folks will see it and answer.

Many have ridden this route and will give you some opinions.

As to which side to get a roomette, you can't tell which side any roomette will be on until you board the train as the sleeper cars can be oriented in either direction.

The best advice is to spend some time in the SightSeer Lounge (SSL). There will be no SSL on this route from Seattle to Spokane - when it combines with the section coming from Portland. But from Spokane to Chicago, you will have the SSL attached.

Also, on the 2nd day, there is a FREE wine and cheese tasting party, held in the Dining Car, for Sleeping car passengers only.

the Empire Builder is a great train. Relax and enjoy the scenery. As the Traveler said, be sure to spend some time in the sightseer lounge to enjoy the beautiful scenery and meet some of the other passengers. I don't believe one side is necessarily better than the other, so do not worry about which side your roomette will be.

welcome aboard!

I love the EB....and i agree to head to the lounge for a while!