BC vs coach question

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
[Moderator's note - This thread was split off after being posted to a 2003 thread]

Being a newbie here thought it better to revive an old thread vice start a new one asking the same question. I recently rode the Palmetto from RVR to CHS and back in Business. I took a look in a coach car and it looked pretty much the same. The only difference I could tell is that it appeared their might have been a little less leg room, but not really sure. Was not offered any complimentary drinks, snacks pillow or blanket and did not see any installed entertainment that one of the poster in the thread years ago mentioned.

What are the advantages of Business class if any on this train besides not having to stand in the longer coach line and perhaps more leg room than coach? I plan to take this same route about once a year and trying to determine if it is worth the added costs. Thank in advance to anyone who will answer!

Last edited by a moderator:
Business Class on the Palmetto features Wi-Fi connectivity. There usually is one coach that offers Wi-Fi on the Palmetto (in addition to the Cafe), but it generally has a lot less legroom since it is a standard corridor coach. The long distance coaches (the rear three cars) generally have comparable leg room, but lack the Wi-Fi of Business Class. You are still entitled to the comp beverages in the lounge, you may just have to ask the Lounge Car Attendant when you go in there (it's not served to you at seat like on an airline or Acela First Class). Hope that helps!