Baltimore - Chicago -- and return (Capitol Limited)

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Rail Rider

This is my annual trek on the Capital that I've been doing for the past 10 years or so. Here are some observations:

My connecting train from Baltimore n Sunday Oct 3 was NE Regional 195 with a final destination of Richmond. This was sort of a drag becuase I had to manhandle my suitcase down the steps to the lower-level low platform when we arrived at DC. I was also pretty amazed at how full the train was.

I made my way to the Club Acela, checked in and then went downstairs to the food court to get a sushi plate to hold me over until dinner was served. When I returned to the Club Acela, I discovered that they don't let you bring in outside food, and so had to go back out and eat my lunch with the hoi-polloi downstairs. Whatever, they pre-boarded us at about 3:30 PM, the train left from track 16, so we didn't have to hike back down to the lower level, which was pretty common back in the days around the year 2000, when it seemed that the train had more freight cars than passenger cars. I found my roomette with no difficulty and settled in. The car attendant saved himself some time by giving the basic orientation speech over the loudspeaker, but he did come by to talk to each of us personally, and also asked us what time we wanted our beds made up. This must be a new policy, becuase they attendant on the way back did the same thing. I liked it, becuase I found my bed made up at that time, rather than prowling around the car, tired, at bedtime looking for the missing attendant to make up the bed.