Amtrak Newbie(ish) Questions

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
First off I would like to say hi and introduce myself, this is my first time posting. I've been lurking on the boards for the past month or so, as I've been contemplating taking my first Amtrak trip since I was 7 (I'm 23 now). I've decided to go ahead and give it a go riding Amtrak, and I have quite a bit of questions (sorry in advance and my ignorance to Amtrak) that I couldn't find answered in previous posts. Traveling aboard the Silver Meteor.

I will be riding from Palatka, FL to Bridgeport, CT; Is connecting in NYP less of a hassle than WAS?

I've noticed that when booking my trip it is $30 cheaper doing the multi-city option versus the normal option, why is that?

How do I know if my multi-city option is guranteed?

My station is unmanned and has no inside seating I would like to get to the station as late as possible, what would you suggest? Can I call Amtrak on the day of the trip, and ask how late my train is running and base my arrival to the station off that?

I can't check my bags at my station, and I may need to take an extra small bag for personal items, is a small gym bag reasonable to count as a personal item? If not, will my unchecked bags be accesible to me during my travels?

I read somewhere that the dining car is only accesible for those in rooms, those traveling in coach will have to go to the dining "window?"

Is it normal for people traveling in coach, to use the restrooms to freshen up and possibly change clothes?

Finally, other than booking a room, is their a lounge area for those who would like to have a change of scenery (maybe more access to outlets?)

Once, again I apoligize for all the questions, I feel like "that" person. Thanks.