Amtrak newbie - Few ticketing questions

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
**Please forgive me if this is the wrong forum to post this message**

Hi,

I am relatively new to Amtrak. Here is my situation. I am arriving into Newark International Airport at 6pm on Fri AUG 08 on an international flight.

I then want to go via Amtrak from EWR station to PHL. I have a couple of questions.

1) If I book my ticket online, where can I collect the ticket from? I believe I need to show a ticket to get a free ride on the Airport-Station monorail, otherwise it will cost me $5/-

2) I have two medium sized suitcases that I will be carrying and a hand bag.

How do I get from the arrivals hall in Newark International Airport to the EWR Amtrak station (with my luggage)

3) I am planning on buying my Amtrak ticket online (either one way to PHL or round trip). Can you please tell me:

a) Can I cancel the entire trip and what amount of the fare will I receive back if I buy the ticket online and cancel before the travel date?

B) If I buy a roundtrip ticket EWR-PHL-EWR, can I cancel and receive the refund if I do not travel EWR-PHL and yet retrain the PHL-EWR ticket?

c) Is there any option to cancel and receive a refund/credit if I cancel after the train has departed (in case my flight is late which causes me to miss the train and I cannot call before and cancel)

4) Currently I am seeing that my options for EWR-PHL on SEP 08 from ~7pm onwards are:

- Train 137 leaving at 0642pm - Only Business Class at $100

- Train 175 leaving at 0857pm $61 in coach.

Is there nothing in between 0642-0857pm?

5) Is there usually space to carry two 28inch suitcases onboard?