Amtrak Fare Pricing Methodology

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

wintersummer

Service Attendant
I'm a complete newbie in the world of Amtrak travel, so would like to ask for some advice in purchasing tickets for sleeper accomodations for the Empire Builder.

I know airline tickets have wide fluctuations in price on almost daily basis. Also, with airlines you can get drastically less expensive tickets by just changing a departure or arrival city.

Do these same somewhat illogical fare rules apply to Amtrak? For instance, would I find drastically different pricing by boarding at Milwaukee vs. Chicago, go to Portland vs. Seattle?

Is it worth checking pricing on daily basis to determine best time to buy? Any other advice appreciated!

my advice is book as early as possible(you can book up to 11 months in advance. then check back from time to time as there may be a promotion or lower sleeper price. if you reserve on line, pay by credit card and haven't picked or had your tickets sent to you, you may cancel without penalty(unless possibly you have booked under a special promotion)and rebook at a lower fare

my advice is book as early as possible(you can book up to 11 months in advance. then check back from time to time as there may be a promotion or lower sleeper price. if you reserve on line, pay by credit card and haven't picked or had your tickets sent to you, you may cancel without penalty(unless possibly you have booked under a special promotion)and rebook at a lower fare
Yarrow - thanks for advice. Could you explain what you mean by the words "haven't picked" in your response? I know I will have to pick what type of sleeper I want. Is that what you meant?