Amtrak eTicket questions

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

DocJohnB

Train Attendant
These questions probably lie right on the cusp of being "dumb" ones, but . . . . . .

I am taking a round trip Bos-DFB leaving BOS on 29 Jan and returning from DFB on 12 Feb (with a nice little cruise in between :p ). I was issued and have printed my eTicket. It lists the reservation number and has one of those scannable code things (can you tell, I am not very tech savvy?). This is also my first Amtrak trip in 20+ years.

However, I do not have a clue as to how it works. On the face of the ticket are the words "PRESENT THIS DOCUMENT FOR TRAVEL". My question is simply to whom do I present the document? Ticket agent? Kiosk at South Station? Train attendant?

2nd question. Is this the same document I need to use for all segments of the trip? Or will I be issued something further.

I have flown using e-tickets, but had to do something at both the start and return points (print a boarding pass).

Thank you.

John.

These questions probably lie right on the cusp of being "dumb" ones, but . . . . . .
I am taking a round trip Bos-DFB leaving BOS on 29 Jan and returning from DFB on 12 Feb (with a nice little cruise in between :p ). I was issued and have printed my eTicket. It lists the reservation number and has one of those scannable code things (can you tell, I am not very tech savvy?). This is also my first Amtrak trip in 20+ years.

However, I do not have a clue as to how it works. On the face of the ticket are the words "PRESENT THIS DOCUMENT FOR TRAVEL". My question is simply to whom do I present the document? Ticket agent? Kiosk at South Station? Train attendant?

2nd question. Is this the same document I need to use for all segments of the trip? Or will I be issued something further.