amtrak employment

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

superchief

how does one go about becoming a conductor or lounge car attendant? i want to work for amtrak but dont have railroad experience and dont want to be stuck washing dishes in the dining car.

how does one go about becoming a conductor or lounge car attendant? i want to work for amtrak but dont have railroad experience and dont want to be stuck washing dishes in the dining car.
I would like a job as well with Amtrak but I need to know how to submit my resume and look at available positions please advise.

How about applying for a position as an Amtrak Police Officer I heard they're only excepting Police officers already Commissioned or Mp's from the Military. I'm Prior Service too that served in Desert Storm on board an Amphibious SHip as a Radio Communications Operator do I have a chance I did 4 years from 87 - 91

Don't worry about washing dishes unless you catch the Empire Builder~ all the plates and cups are disposable.

Silverware is about the only thing left to wash. Just remember that on board crews stay on board for most of or all of a long distance journey wheras the train crew (conductor, engineer, fireman and asst. conductor)change crews about every 6-8 hours. For example if you catch the City of New Orleans as a lounge car attendant you go all the way to Chicago and return the same night after arriving that morning. The trainmen change in Greenwood, MS and the engineer changes in Jackson, MS The reason for the difference in changing points is that the engineer cannot work alone for over 6 hours without a fireman. The train crew returns home the next day; a full day ahead of the on board crew.