30K Miles burning a hole in my pocket

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cristian

Train Attendant
Hello everyone,

Even though I am a relatively newbie here, I was able to learn so much about Amtrak thanks to this great community here.

I would appreciate your suggestions on how to best make use of 30K AGR points that have found their way into my account thanks to CO.

I am based in VNC/LAX and am debating myself on whether to fly ( :eek: ) up to ORD and then take the EB to SEA and connect to the CS (this would of course have to be done before 04/01/11) or perhaps try the TE from LAX to CHI (don't really care for the scenery down South but I do like the idea of spending 68 hours on a single train :cool: ). Or even paying for part of the trip (i.e. paying up to a zone-bordering town) and using miles for the rest of the trip and build a nice trans-con either up to BOS or down to JAX.

So many choices...

For the moment I am leaning towards the EB/CS combo mainly due to the refurbished cars (although I am aware that's not guaranteed) and ofc for the PPC. Are there any refurbished superliners on the TE? I see that on most of the dates it operates it's almost always sold out...

Thank you in advance for your help :)

Regards,

Cristian

I am taking a revenue trip to Oceanside, CA in July. I used 30K points for my return to go to New Orleans via Chicago, utilizing business class on a surfliner (included in redemption) the Texas Eagle to Chicago and the City of New Orleans. My home station this trip is Galesburg, IL, so my wife used her points to one zone us home from New Orleans. I'm totally with you, in that 68 hours on one train is fantastic! :)

p.s. I know you are new to posting, but this post might have been better served in the Amtrak Guest Rewards area.

Last edited by a moderator: