Amtrak engineers

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm very interested in a career with Amtrak as an Engineer. From what I have read, there are two ways to get hired as an Engineer.

1. You have past experience with another railroad as a certified Engineer.

2. You get promoted from Conductor to Engineer.

I just wanted to know which way would be give me my best chances as to becoming an Engineer? How long would it take for a Conductor for Amtrak to get promoted to Engineer? Any information would be helpful.

I'm no expert in this topic, but I've heard that once you have been a Conductor for two years you can try to get promoted to Engineer. I am sure out member Shortline has much more information.

I am not an Amtrak engineer, so I can't be too specific, but you basically nailed it-Best way to get there is to start in Train service as an Asst Conductor, to Conductor, to Engineer. Other way is to start on a freight RR as a Conductor, become certified as an engineer after 2-5 years, then get hired straight over as an engineer (though you will go through another complete retraining period with AMTK). Not all engineers are created equal, they place a high emphasis on Class 1 training, therefore being initially trained and qualified from one of the big 7 (UP/BNSF/NS/CSX/KCS/CN/CP) is a big head start, from some of the smaller roads. All depends on what you want to do, and how you best think you can manage getting there. The time it takes to go from Train Service, to Engine Service, all depends on where you work out of, how many engineers they need, and where you stand in the seniority line at your area-Some do it in a year or less, others closer to 5 years. All depends on the needs of the RR, how many engineer slots are open, and how many conductors are ahead of you in line.