Amtrak Train Numbers

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Good evening, I am new to this Discussion Forum and wanted to know if any one could help me with some of Amtrak's train numbers. Did Amtrak ever have Train Number 9, 12, or 13? I can't find any information on this subject and would appreciate any help in finding an answer. Thanks again

S. White

I'm going to take a stab here and say that 12/13 may have been the Coast Daylight, which Amtrak dropped in 1974. I say this not only because the Coast Starlight has 11/14, but because the "Spirit of California" got the numbering of 15/18 (18 was recycled from the North Coast Hiawatha, which was 17/18 to coincide with the 7/8 of the Empire Builder). Whatever 9/10 was (and that would almost assuredly have been a pairing) was probably one of the trains dropped in the late 70s.

From old timetables, it looks like 12/13 was definitely the Coast Daylight. 9/10 is a bit harder to sort out. In earlier timetables (November 1974, for instance), it's the North Coast Hiawatha/Twin Cities Hiawatha, but later on (1978), the North Coast Hiawatha was given 17/18 and 9/10 was given to the North Star (Chicago-MSP-Duluth). It looks like the North Star kept 9/10 until it was discontinued in 1985, at that point running MSP-Duluth only.

Last edited by a moderator:
From old timetables, it looks like 12/13 was definitely the Coast Daylight. 9/10 is a bit harder to sort out. In earlier timetables (November 1974, for instance), it's the North Coast Hiawatha/Twin Cities Hiawatha, but later on (1978), the North Coast Hiawatha was given 17/18 and 9/10 was given to the North Star (Chicago-MSP-Duluth). It looks like the North Star kept 9/10 until it was discontinued in 1985, at that point running MSP-Duluth only.