Amtrak's Safety culture

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

fulham

Service Attendant
While I am extremely upset about the accident in Philadelphia the other day, I also have questions regarding Amtrak's safety culture. As many of you have probably seen, this month's Trains has an article by Don Phillips about Amtrak's Safe-2-Safer program and how it has not been effective in reducing injuries, and how many employees are not even aware of it.

I have ridden the NEC many times and the operation has always appeared to be safe, but it is one thing to be a passenger, another to be part of an operation where hundreds of trains are operating at very high speeds on short leeways. I worked in the trucking industry for over 30 years and worked for companies where safety was nothing but a slogan, to where the smallest infraction (speeding-wise) was dealt with through progressive discipline. I came across employees who would never own up to being involved in backing accidents to ones who really were invested in maintaining a strong safety culture.

So my question is, what is the safety culture on the NEC? We obviously know train 188 was speeding, but we do not know why. I know safety is enforced, but with what just happened and the Don Phillips article, is it a slogan or is it a strong culture?

My guess is that if they were supposed to be sleeping, then they would be in their private roomette. Otherwise, they certainly can't be proactively promote safe operations while being asleep.

It was the conductor of the train in the lounge car actually. I was sitting in there and I saw it. And heard it she snored rather loud