Would this routing fly?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Big Iron

Conductor
I've only redeemed AGR points once and it was a simple routing that can be booked on-line. What I'm hoping to do is this:

RVR-WAS to connect to the Cardinal to CHI. Amtrak on-line routes to from RVR-CVS by bus to connect. I'd like to leave from DC to get some new route miles under my belt........and a lunch given the 11:05 departure. It's allowable using multi-city trip, just curious if AGR would allow this.

The return would be CHI-CVS-RVR so no problem there.

Thanks!!

If it does not come up as a possible route using "A to B" (NOT multi-city!), then AGR most likely will not book it. However, if you try the sleeper rule, then maybe it might work!
Please explain the sleeper rule? I'm an AGR noob. I do plan to take sleeper both ways between WAS-CHI and CHI-CVS

Another option is to pay for the train RVR to WAS then use points for WAS to RVR. AGR can book both for you.

Last edited by a moderator:
If it does not come up as a possible route using "A to B" (NOT multi-city!), then AGR most likely will not book it. However, if you try the sleeper rule, then maybe it might work!
Please explain the sleeper rule? I'm an AGR noob. I do plan to take sleeper both ways between WAS-CHI and CHI-CVS
You'd have to take some sort of sleeper service from RVR to WAS.

Basically, the rule allows a non-published routing to be booked if both of these conditions apply:

1. All listed routes have at least one portion without sleeper service.

2. A routing exists that has all sleepers. (I'd suspect it would have to be a "logical" routing, too; e.g. DEN - LAX couldn't be done via CHI, but would have to be done via EMY.)

You'd have to take some sort of sleeper service from RVR to WAS.