Process of Turning a Train: What Does It Entail?

Discussion in 'Amtrak Rail Discussion' started by NSC1109, Oct 22, 2018.

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

  1. Oct 25, 2018 #26

    Karl1459

    Karl1459

    Karl1459

    Lead Service Attendant

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    460
    Location:
    Oregon
    Turning a train...

    1. One big freaking turntable.

    2. Uncouple the train, switch each car and locomotive and turn on a normal sized turntable, reassemble the consist, couple, and go a couple days later.

    3. A balloon track.

    4. A wye with long enough legs to turn the entire train.
    5. A wye with a leg too short.. repeat the procedure #2.

    Reversing a train... the hard way

    1. Uncouple the locomotives and turn per "turning a train", move to opposite end of train and couple.

    2. Flat switch any head end or tail end cars to there respective new positions.

    3. Flip any seats as needed.

    Reversing a train... a little easier.

    1. Plan ahead, two locomotives back to back. Simply flat switch the locomotives to the opposite end and couple.

    2. Deal with flipping seats and head/tail end cars the "hard" way.

    Reversing a train the easy way

    1. Locomotive at one end of train and a cab car or locomotive on the other. Engineer simply changes seats.
    2. Don't flip seats.

    3. No head end/tail end cars.
     
  2. Oct 25, 2018 #27

    cpotisch

    cpotisch

    cpotisch

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    7,509
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    You forgot about wyes and loops.
     
  3. Oct 25, 2018 #28

    jis

    jis

    jis

    Conductor AU Lifetime Supporter Gathering Team Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    24,752
    Location:
    Space Coast, Florida, Area code 3-2-1
    Did you miss 3, 4 and 5 under reversing the train?
     
  4. Oct 25, 2018 #29

    cpotisch

    cpotisch

    cpotisch

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    7,509
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Apparently I did.

    What I think happened there was that the "Turning a train..." section was the only case where the different numbered items were a bunch of different ways of doing it, rather than the steps involved, so I mentally glossed over it.

    Sorry!
     
  5. Oct 26, 2018 #30

    DSS&A

    D

    DSS&A

    Lead Service Attendant

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    328
    I found this "old time" method on how to turn a train.
     

    Attached Files:

    daybeers likes this.
  6. Oct 26, 2018 #31

    AmtrakBlue

    AmtrakBlue

    AmtrakBlue

    Conductor Gathering Team Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    11,135
    Location:
    Delaware
    daybeers likes this.
  7. Oct 26, 2018 #32

    cpotisch

    cpotisch

    cpotisch

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    7,509
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
  8. Oct 27, 2018 #33

    DSS&A

    D

    DSS&A

    Lead Service Attendant

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    328
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 27, 2018
    cpotisch likes this.
  9. Dec 4, 2018 #34

    Thirdrail7

    T

    Thirdrail7

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    4,017
    If a train turns in the station, it will not have access to the wash.  Quite a few trains will turn in the station die to scheduling issues (meaning there isn't enough time between runs to get it to the yard.)  Not all facilities have a wash so it sometimes it can be a few days before a train may make it to the wash. This of course assumes that the temperature is high enough to wash the train and there are no restrictions in the consist.
     
  10. Dec 4, 2018 #35

    cpotisch

    cpotisch

    cpotisch

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    7,509
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Sorry, they put the trains through a wash every time they turn the train? Why is that necessary?
     
  11. Dec 4, 2018 #36

    cirdan

    cirdan

    cirdan

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    2,318
    I think it has nothing to do with Siemens but all to do with what the customer put in the specs.

    Seats are typically manufactured by sub-contractors anyway, so you can basically spec any type of seats that you want, regardless of who builds the rest of the train.
     
  12. Dec 4, 2018 #37

    Maglev

    Maglev

    Maglev

    OBS Chief

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    720
    Location:
    Orcas Island, Washington
    Everything is getting cheaper and lighter-weight.  Seats that can be turned are expensive and heavy.  The newest Talgos on the Cascades do not have seats that turn (half the seats face backwards).  It also saves on labor, not needing to turn the seats.  I predict that, maybe except for long-distance coaches, fixed seats are the new normal.
     
  13. Dec 4, 2018 #38

    RebelRider

    R

    RebelRider

    Train Attendant

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    America's Railroad
    In theory, the train will be cleaner if you wash it more often (this theory assumes the wash is actually effective which, in my opinion, most are not). Most washes are located on the balloon/loop track or a central track in/out of the yard so might as well get it done when a move is already underway.
     
  14. Dec 4, 2018 #39

    Seaboard92

    Seaboard92

    Seaboard92

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,179
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I've been in the DC Wash. I'm trying to remember where exactly it is. But I don't think it's on the wye.
     
  15. Dec 4, 2018 #40

    Thirdrail7

    T

    Thirdrail7

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    4,017
    it is indeed on the short leg of the wye. The High Speed train has its own wash on 52 track, which doesn't require a wye move.
     
  16. Dec 6, 2018 #41

    Seaboard92

    Seaboard92

    Seaboard92

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,179
    Location:
    South Carolina
    That explains why I don't remember it because I was probably cleaning the inside of the car at the time. I remember seeing the Acela one though. And that isn't on the wye.
     

Share This Page

arrow_white