Problem updating Amtrak account details online

Discussion in 'Amtrak Rail Discussion' started by tjemartin, Oct 1, 2016.

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

  1. Oct 1, 2016 #1

    tjemartin

    tjemartin

    tjemartin

    Train Attendant

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Hello,

    I recently renewed my NARP Membership for the year. Not sure why I have a different NARP membership number listed in the My Account section of the Amtrak website than what is printed on my NARP membership cards, but anyways when I tried to change it, I get the following error message on Amtrak's website:

    Due to a system issue, we are currently unable to process your request. Try again later.
    [Error ID: 001CD]

    I've been trying at different times during the past week and I keep getting the same error message. I have Windows 10 Pro installed along with the latest versions of Google Chrome and Internet Explorer 11 (I've tried with both browsers), everything is up to date on my computer.

    I just would like to know what is wrong? It is tiresome and frustrating to say the very least.

    amtrak.JPG
     
  2. Oct 1, 2016 #2

    Kenneth

    Kenneth

    Kenneth

    Service Attendant

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Southern Illinois
    I understand your frustration when a computer is not working. I have never had to show my NARP card, but I don't know if the Amtrak system checks the number against the NARP roster. It seems like it just needs to see a number in that field.
     
  3. Oct 1, 2016 #3

    the_traveler

    the_traveler

    the_traveler

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    25,542
    Location:
    Whatever siding I'm sitting on!
    I don't believe they do.

    I've used AAA for years. Even after I let my membership expire, I never was questioned about it or asked for my card. I assume NARP will be the same way.
     
  4. Aug 31, 2018 #4

    Jersey Jeff

    Jersey Jeff

    Jersey Jeff

    Train Attendant

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Union Tower on the NEC
    Sorry to resurrect this thread but I have had this exact same problem all year. I've logged in with different web browsers from different computers, all with the same frustrating results. I wish I could update my info on the Amtrak app rather than on a PC.
     
  5. Aug 31, 2018 #5

    FrensicPic

    FrensicPic

    FrensicPic

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,800
    Location:
    CWT
    Haven't been able to update that info in I don't know how long. (Chrome, Edge or IE).
     
  6. Aug 31, 2018 #6

    jis

    jis

    jis

    Conductor AU Lifetime Supporter Gathering Team Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    24,184
    Location:
    Space Coast, Florida, Area code 3-2-1
    The deployment of the new user interface to amtrak.com has been a case study in sloppy and incompetent execution, and it carries on. Basically the Profile Editing features do not work too much. Can't change telephone, number, nor preferred passenger type.

    And funnily, absolutely no one at Amtrak seems to be interested or bothered about any of this. Life merrily goes on.
     
    daybeers and RSG like this.
  7. Aug 31, 2018 #7

    Mystic River Dragon

    M

    Mystic River Dragon

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,468
    jis,

    Perhaps no one at Amtrak cares about this because Amtrak doesn't want us pesky passengers anymore--we really are a pain for them, the way we complain about picnic boxes and bus bridges [​IMG].

    We will know they are really serious when they start taking lessons from NJ Transit in how to drive people away. [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 31, 2018
    daybeers likes this.
  8. Aug 31, 2018 #8

    tjemartin

    tjemartin

    tjemartin

    Train Attendant

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    I agree with Mystic River Dragon. Never had this problem before that ex airline CEO took over Amtrak. He's driving Amtrak straight into the ground
     
  9. Aug 31, 2018 #9

    jis

    jis

    jis

    Conductor AU Lifetime Supporter Gathering Team Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    24,184
    Location:
    Space Coast, Florida, Area code 3-2-1
    Not that Amtrak was exactly flying like Delta Airlines before he came about though [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 31, 2018
    daybeers, RSG, jebr and 2 others like this.
  10. Aug 31, 2018 #10

    AmtrakBlue

    AmtrakBlue

    AmtrakBlue

    Conductor Gathering Team Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,987
    Location:
    Delaware
    People really think Anderson had anything to do with the new website? Sheesh, those airline hater blinders are more blinding than I thought.
     
  11. Aug 31, 2018 #11

    Mystic River Dragon

    M

    Mystic River Dragon

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,468
    No, I don't really think in this case it is Anderson's fault. My comment was tongue-in-cheek about Amtrak in general (plus a chance to get in my daily dig at NJT! [​IMG])
     
  12. Aug 31, 2018 #12

    jis

    jis

    jis

    Conductor AU Lifetime Supporter Gathering Team Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    24,184
    Location:
    Space Coast, Florida, Area code 3-2-1
    Actually NJT for all its faults, in general does a much better job managing its web presence I think. They do a good job notifying all of those zillion cancellations. Try finding that sort of information in a timely fashion on the Amtrak site [​IMG]
     
    daybeers and Mystic River Dragon like this.
  13. Aug 31, 2018 #13

    zephyr17

    z

    zephyr17

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,847
    Location:
    Washington State
    Had the same problem just putting in my NARP/ARP number in my profile after I joined it.

    This I don't lay at Anderson's feet. The website redesign was initiated before him, I think, and most of the problems seem to stem from the new website.

    Maybe Anderson would be better served by doing some customer service initiatives than attacking the services.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 31, 2018
  14. Sep 5, 2018 #14

    cpotisch

    cpotisch

    cpotisch

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    7,509
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    I will admit that the new site is prettier than the old one, however when it comes to speed and usability, it just doesn't hold a candle to the old one.
     
    daybeers and Triley like this.
  15. Sep 5, 2018 #15

    zephyr17

    z

    zephyr17

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,847
    Location:
    Washington State
    As an IT professional, my opinion is that a lot of the problems I've encountered (inability to update the NARP number, inability to enter NEXUS card info for cross-border travel on all modes-website, mobile website, mobile app) are just plain sloppy.
     
    daybeers likes this.

Share This Page

arrow_white