Passenger Engineer Trainee Questions!

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hello. I received a "Passenger Engineer Trainee" job alert from Amtrak. I have some quick questions. Any help I get is appreciated!

1. Are engineers on call 24/7 like conductors are?
2. Does Amtrak hire engineers from the outside who have no prior rail experience? (I have heard that 99% of the positions are filled from within.)
3. How complicated is the actual job?
4. I heard that you have to memorize a lot of stuff? Is it overwhelming or just normally difficult?

Thank you!

1. like Conductors, Engineers start off on the extra board and are subject to 24 hour call.
2. Yes, on occasion.
3. I have no specific experience.
4. Coming into an engineers job with NO railroad experience creates a much larger learning curve than just accepting a "promotion" from Conductor to Engineer. Not only are you learning to operate an Engine, you are learning all the operating rules, physical characteristics, etc that apply to the railroads you will be operating over. I would encourage you to start as a Conductor first, to learn some of the previous stated rules, as well as what you are getting into...

Good Luck to you.

It's hard to answer #4, because what is simple and logical for one person is overwhelming for another. But, basically you have to learn at least one, likely several operating rule books (depends on where you are based and the railroads you'll be operating over). You'll get tested on these rules not only during your training period, but during recurring training, and even while at work when they might do certain controlled tests just to make sure you remember (and if you get it wrong, you get taken out of service on the spot).