One dead motor

Discussion in 'Amtrak Rail Discussion' started by MARC Rider, Jan 31, 2019.

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

  1. Jan 31, 2019 #1

    MARC Rider

    M

    MARC Rider

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Baltimore. MD
    So it's  8:06 pm, and I'm sitting in the dark on NER 186 a little south of milepost 99 somewhere between BWI and West Baltimore. we were going great and then the lights went out and we coasted to a stop.  Announcement made that we were having mechanical problems...I'm in first car and crew hanging out were talking about how the couldn't keep the circuit breaker closed.

    Lights went back on for a moment, and then went off again.  Sounds like the conductor was calling Tech Support (at Siemens?) and was given some codes, presumably for the engineer.  Nice chilly night, reporting 12F at BWI.  So far the coach is still warm, but I hope they get this fixed or offload us into a rescue train soon!
     
  2. Jan 31, 2019 #2

    Thirdrail7

    T

    Thirdrail7

    Conductor AU Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    4,153
    It's almost there and will chase you in case.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 31, 2019
  3. Jan 31, 2019 #3

    Bex

    Bex

    Bex

    Service Attendant

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    NEC
    Hm, Amtrak just said on Twitter you would be going on 2128 but then immediately deleted that tweet.
     
  4. Jan 31, 2019 #4

    john h

    j

    john h

    Service Attendant

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Shouldn't they just be able to just hook up the new locomotive and not have to offload?
     
  5. Jan 31, 2019 #5

    Acela150

    Acela150

    Acela150

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,571
    Location:
    In a Sea of Foam
    It's a little more complicated then that. ;)  
     
  6. Jan 31, 2019 #6

    MARC Rider

    M

    MARC Rider

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Baltimore. MD
    The Acela just passed us, the lights are back on, and they've going to take us to Baltimore, where I get off, and put everyone going further on to the Acela.

    We're off!

    Nor going too fast, but at least we're moving.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 31, 2019
  7. Jan 31, 2019 #7

    Thirdrail7

    T

    Thirdrail7

    Conductor AU Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    4,153
    They livened up the engine so a transfer isn't necessary....yet.

    Did you read the temperature?   Assuming there is a crew, it would take almost an hour minutes to get the nearest rescue engine to the train...and that is just to arrive, not hook it up and cable it up to HEP.  2128 is much closer.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 31, 2019
  8. Jan 31, 2019 #8

    Bex

    Bex

    Bex

    Service Attendant

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    NEC
    The tweet is back.
     
  9. Feb 8, 2019 #9

    daybeers

    d

    daybeers

    OBS Chief

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    HFD
    What happened with passengers bound for Aberdeen? Acela can't stop because it's not a high-level platform.
     
  10. Feb 11, 2019 #10

    MARC Rider

    M

    MARC Rider

    Conductor

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Baltimore. MD
    They had to go up in the station and wait for the northbound Palmetto.
     

Share This Page



arrow_white