New Haven to New York, late afternoon: MNRR or Amtrak?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pere Flyer

Lead Service Attendant
I’m new to transit in the Northeast, and I’m planning a trip on Feb. 22 from Hartford to New York. I’m considering two itineraries. No. 1 is CTrail 475, 4:29 p.m. HFD – 5:18 p.m. NHV, transferring to MNRR, 5:45 p.m. NHV – 7:45 p.m. GCT.

No. 2 is CTrail 475, 4:29 p.m. HFD – 5:18 p.m. NHV, transferring to Amtrak NER 175, 5:45 p.m. NHV – 7:28 p.m. NYP.

I’m inclined toward Option 1, since it’s cheaper than Option 2 and goes to starry GCT vs. the Penn Basement, but I don’t know how MNRR’s New Haven Line compares with a NER in terms of OTP, comfort, and general reliability.

Metro-North all the way. The seats may not be as comfortable and the trip may seem a little bit longer but the reliability and OTP is there. Metro_north will also prioritize its train over an Amtrak.

Metro-North all the way. The seats may not be as comfortable and the trip may seem a little bit longer but the reliability and OTP is there. Metro_north will also prioritize its train over an Amtrak.
Thanks. That’s helpful information. Is 27 minutes sufficient padding to connect from a CT shuttle to Metro North?

You’re not wrong.
Thanks. That’s helpful information. Is 27 minutes sufficient padding to connect from a CT shuttle to Metro North?
Yes. Also of note 175 is an Amtrak shuttle. Not CTRail. [emoji6]