MBTA Lowell Line and vestibule between carriages?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SheilaAverbuch

Train Attendant
I'm a fiction writer and fact-checking a scene I've written in a book for children, where a conductor has a word with a girl in the vestibule space between cars on an MBTA train to Lowell. Can you help me figure out two things - 1) would it be noisier in the vestibule than in the main cars where the seats are? 2) On a hot day, would there be AC in the train, and would that be throughout the train including the vestibule, or only in the main car, and not in the vestibule? (I've described the vestibule as being hot and uncomfortable and the main cars cool due to AC, but perhaps that's wrong). Thanks again to the members of this forum who've already helped me with this research!

It’s far noises in the vestibule of any North American Train with the exception of the VIA Renaissance Cars. And again with the same exception vestibules are not part of the central air system. So in the winter it’s cold, and in the summer it’s hot.