Locomotive Control Question

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Amfleet

Engineer
This may seem like an odd question, but do locomotives have pedals (like on a car) and throttles or is it all throttle control? I ask this because in the movie "Silver Streak" it shows the engineer controling the loco with a pedal.

Amfleet said:
This may seem like an odd question, but do locomotives have pedals (like on a car) and throttles or is it all throttle control? I ask this because in the movie "Silver Streak" it shows the engineer controling the loco with a pedal.
Well I'm not an expert, and I've never really been in the cab of a modern loco, but no I don't believe that there are any pedals.

They use a throttle to control train speed. One reason for that pedal that you saw in the movie was the need for a dead man's feature. A dead man's feature was something that required constant pressure, like a pedal. If there is no pressure on the pedal or handle, then the train is immediately thrown into BIE (Brakes In Emergency). Here in the NYC subway system, the dead man’s feature requires constant downward pressure on the controller or throttle.

Today modern loco's no longer use that type of dead man's feature. Instead they use a combination of things. The computer looks to see if the engineer is obeying the signals, via cab signaling; it looks to see if the engineer is blowing the horn regularly; in some places it can also check to see if the engineer is following the speed limit; plus it periodically requires the engineer to hit a button to acknowledge that he's still there and awake.