Jamie's trip report - part 1

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

amtrakmichigan

Lead Service Attendant
Well this is my first time writing a trip report, so let's see how it goes :eek:

I am going to write this in a few different parts as time permits. This will be part 1 of at least 4 reports for my trip from Dearborn, Mi to Kississmee, Fl. My wife Kim, Daughter Danielle, and myself traveled almost 4,000 miles on our voyage.

There will be a few consists that I didn't get a chance to write down car numbers on some of the cars. I also didn't write down any of the locomotive # either.

PART 1

Friday November 14, 2003 - Train#351 "Wolverine" 3 Business Class seats

We departed Dearborn, Mi (home of Ford Motor Co.) at 8:20 am 17 minutes late on our way to Chicago. besides the 3 of us, my two good friends Mike and Bill rode along with us to Chicago. they were just going for the weekend and would return home on that Sunday. Anytime we go to Chicago on the train, I always take a double bowling ball bag with me with a small cooler in the middle of it. Before we leave I will buy some 20 oz bottles of pop (soda) pour out some of the pop and add some whiskey or rum or whatever my friends would like to make a nice cold mixed drink that looks like a plain bottle of coke. I know what Amtrak's official rule is regarding personell stock of booze, but never had anybody ever question me about my "pop" in several trips to and from Chicago. It almost seems that they know, but look the other way as long as you don't become stupidly drunk, or become a problem, and as long as it's hidden and not tearing open a case of beer or pulling out a fifth of booze in front of everyone. I always still purchase a mixed drink from the lounge to patronize Amtrak when I bring my own supply.