California Zephyr Coach Price Differences

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi,

I'm new to rail travel and booking my first trip on the California Zephyr from Emeryville to Denver. There are 3 price options for reserved coach on amtrak.com, $114.00, $144.00 and $276.00. What's the difference?

Thanks!

Bluebird

Clicking on the blue bar containing the names of those different fares will produce a drop-down display explaining the features (refundability and flexibility) of each fare.

The $115 you saw is the Saver fare from DEN to EMY and is 20% less than the Value fare of $144. The Saver fare is offered only two weeks or more in advance - if it is offered at all. Including the Saver fare, there are a total of 6 different possible coach fares, but over some span of time all may not be offered.

AmSnag... http://biketrain.net/amsnag/amSnag.php ...will allow you to see how fares vary by date of travel and allow you to shop for the cheapest possible fare provided your travel date has some flexibility.

Similar to the airlines. there are "Saver" fares with penalties and advanced purchase requirements. The Full Fare for Coach is similar to the "Y" fare when you fly, few if any penalties.