Boarding the Coast Starlight at Burbank

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I am a newbie on Amtrak travel and planning to take the Coast Starlight from Burbank to Seattle with luggage. I note there are no Checked baggage facilities at Burbank. Can anyone kindly guide me to the procedure of boarding at Burbank with luggage.

I am a newbie on Amtrak travel and planning to take the Coast Starlight from Burbank to Seattle with luggage. I note there are no Checked baggage facilities at Burbank. Can anyone kindly guide me to the procedure of boarding at Burbank with luggage.

You'll need to carry it onto the train. Just show up, with your luggage, on the platform before the train arrives.

If in a sleeping car, the attendant should be watching for you and offer help swinging your bag onto the train. If in coach, an Assistant Conductor or Coach Attendant will usually offer help getting baggage on board and if you are disabled or elderly they should help stow a bag.

Also, sleepers will be at the front of the train (northwest end of the platform), business class will be in the middle of the train (center of the platform), and coaches will be at the rear of the train (southeast end of the platform). Trying to pre-position will give you more time to board as they try to make Burbank a quick stop.

We just boarded the train at Burbank a couple of weeks ago, with luggage. As has been mentioned, it is unstaffed and you must tote your own bags. That having been said, it is very "user-friendly", with lots of ramps, benches for seating, drop-off area for shuttles and taxis, etc. I have a pic I'll try to add later. There is a walking connection to the airport and decent public transit adjacent.

You’re allowed to bring two personal items, and two carry-on items, 50lb. 28 x 22 x 14, onboard.