amtrak to camping at Glacier NP

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Deb

Hello I'm new to Amtrak and have been reading through some of the forums but still have some questions. A friend and I wish to ride the train from WI to Glacier National Park (using the west park entrance) and then camp at the park for a week before returning. Do backpacking backpacks fit on the train? From what I've been able to tell so far none of the train options I've been given have the option of checking baggage, does that sound right? What's the best way of handling our camping gear (tents, sleeping bags, food, etc)? I'm pretty sure we won't be able to take camp stove fuel on board but will have to buy that at the park. When we arrive at west glacier entrance at 8:30pm I believe it's 2-3 miles between the train station and the actual park entrance. Any one know if there are any shuttles available? I wouldn't have a problem hiking it normally but at 8:30 at night when I still need to find a campsite and get set up I'd rather have a faster option. Any advice would be appreciated, Thanks!

Deb-

Are you going solo, or other will be joining you?

I am guessing for hiking, your gears are not going to be any bigger than a large suit case/50lbs?

Not sure about the camp stove, I am going to say no on that.

Just be aware, the train can be later than 8:30 at night, Know last summer it was avg 2 hours late due to the flooding. So maybe make a back up plan if it does arrive late.

I would call the Park, and see if they have shuttle service for you at that time at night.